• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.

HALL HIGH SCHOOL

975 North Main Street
West Hartford, CT 06117
Phone: 860-232-4561
Fax: 860-236-0366

Dan Zittoun, Principal 

Mathematics

STAFF

SUPERVISOREMAILPHONEWEB LINK
 Monique Albani-Ethier monique_albani-ethier@whps.org x5147 
TEACHERS   
 Smita Arora  smita_arora@whps.org x6551 
 Jeffrey Billing  jeff_billing@whps.org x6456 
 James Doyle  jim_doyle@whps.org x6541  
 Michael Fadziewicz (for Taylor Murray)  x6542 
 Brett Franklin  brett_franklin@whps.org x6458 
 Darcie Hudson darcie_hudson@whps.org x6346 
 Karyn Hill  karyn_hill@whps.org x6457 
 Christina Hunter  christina_hunter@whps.org x6459 Website
 Tom Ledvorowski  thomas_ledvorowski@whps.org x6539 
 Gayle Levine gayle_levine@whps.org x6455 Website
 Kimberly Mickus kim_mickus@whps.org x6451 Website
 Kyle Misiaszek  kyle_misiaszek@whps.org x6452 Website
 Laura Nichols laura_nichols@whps.org x6453 Website
 Donna Ranieri  donna_ranieri@whps.org x6454 Website
 Stephen Steele steve_steele@whps.org x6544 

CURRICULUM

The West Hartford Public High Schools’ Mathematics Program embraces a standards based approach that reflects a balance between the development of conceptual understandings and procedural skills. Our program is grounded within four key areas: high expectations for all learners, promotion of inquiry and conjecture, reasoning and sense making, and habits of mind. The program facilitates inquiry and exploration of real world phenomenon utilizing technology. Instruction for all students includes a common core of topics aligned with the Connecticut’s Standards for Mathematics. The courses focus on exploring mathematical content through multiple representations including algebraic, numerical, graphical, and tabular. A sequence of Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II will result in college and career readiness. Additional courses are recommended for students considering college majors in mathematics, engineering,other science related fields or business. Competitive college preparatory and honors courses provide students with content and/or rigor beyond what is expected in a college preparatory course. Experience has shown that a final mark of C or above is needed to assure success in the subsequent mathematics course. You should plan to repeat the course if you earned a D, preferably in summer school. If you do not have a full credit in a prerequisite you may not enroll in the next course. Department permission is required to change courses during the school year.

DOCUMENTS AND LINKS

West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite